Incoming US Ambassador to Kenya Margaret Whitman on Friday night expressed her confidence that the August 9 general election will be free and fair.

Speaking when presenting her credentials to President Uhuru Kenyatta, Ambassador Whitman said Kenya will also experience a peaceful transition.

“…I am confident that Kenya will show the world what free and fair elections look like and how peaceful transitions work,” the new Ambassador to Kenya said.

Ambassador Whitman pledged to use her experience to increase bilateral trade and investment ties between the two countries, noting that Kenya is a dynamic economic engine and technology leader in East Africa.

“Before leaving Washington, President Biden reminded me that a quarter of the world’s population will reside in Africa by 2050. Highlighting Kenya’s leadership on the continent and beyond, President Biden asked me to ‘to use all the tools at my disposal to deepen the bonds between our great nations,’ she said.

During the brief ceremony at State House, Nairobi, President Kenyatta also received the credentials of incoming Ambassadors Sebastian Groth of Germany, Kamal Gubara Mohamed of Sudan and Bacha Debele Buta of Ethiopia.

Germany’s new ambassador to Kenya said his country has been a close and committed partner of Kenya for decades and is determined to further develop this cooperation.

On their part, the new Ethiopian and Sudanese ambassadors pledged to work hard to ensure that they succeed in strengthening the strong multi-faceted diplomatic relations between Kenya and their respective countries.

Receiving the credentials of the new envoys, President Kenyatta
assured them of his support as they undertake their mission in the country.

At a separate reception at State House, Nairobi, President Kenyatta handed over title deeds to five East African countries that have been allocated land in the Naivasha Special Economic Zone. The five countries were Burundi, Rwanda, DR Congo, Uganda and South Sudan.

In attendance were the Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs Amb. Raychelle Omamo and Principal Secretary Amb. Macharia Kamau among others.

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of the Presidency of the Republic of Kenya.

About The Author

Related Posts